Posted by: smstrouse | February 23, 2013

I Wanna Be a Chick for Jesus

3460281988_d04222a897

Our Savior is our true Mother in whom we are endlessly born and out of whom we shall never come. – Julian of Norwich

I don’t usually like being referred to as a chick. But after re-reading the words of Jesus, “O Jerusalem, Jerusalem! How often have I wanted to gather your children together as a mother bird collects her babies under her wings,” I’ve decided that I want to be a chick for Jesus.

No, I don’t think Jesus is going to protect me from all danger; the foxes in the henhouse are real. But the thought of being enfolded under warm and loving wings is just too appealing to resist. As is the wonderfully gender-bending image of Jesus as Mother. Of course, if these words attributed to Jesus do come straight out of the call of Sophia (Wisdom) in Hebrew scripture, then the gender-bending nature of God has been in our tradition from early on. So we don’t need to get all twisted up in the masculinity of Jesus of Nazareth; it is the Divine One that woos us and lures us into Holy Love. This also means that being a chick isn’t gender-specific. In the same way ‘guys’ (I know you won’t all agree with me here) can be inclusive, so can ‘chicks.’

What does it mean to be a chick for Jesus? For me, it’s:

  • seeing the Divine One as fiercely tender, protective of who I am and the person I am becoming
  • having a ‘mother hen’ who not only adores me, but also challenges me to do what is right and true
  • living under the guidance of Wisdom, not as a structure of rules, but as a way of being

Most of all (and maybe this is just because it’s what I need right now), it’s feeling the enveloping warmth, pulsing heartbeat, womb-like peace of this place beneath God’s breast. How about for you?

Leave a Reply

Categories

