Posted by: smstrouse | June 1, 2013

A Shameless Plea: Help Me Write My Book

Yes, I’m finally getting down to business and writing the book that’s been bugging me to be written for the past 10 years. The working title is:  “Pluralism in the New Re-formation: what does it mean to be Christian in a religiously diverse world?”

Most of us have had the experience of encountering a person of another religious tradition. As we listen and learn about what others believe, it’s natural to have questions about our own teachings, biblical interpretations and worship practices. My goal is to create a practical book that will help Christians wrestle with these questions around being respectful of other religions while remaining faithful to their own.

When I was working on my doctorate 10 years ago, I had several inter-religious groups that helped me explore that question. But a lot has happened in 10 years, and I’d really love to get more input from both clergy and lay folks.  So here’s what I’d be interested in hearing from you:

1.  Has your experience or knowledge of other religious traditions raised any questions for you about your own? If so, what are they?

2.  In light of your own interfaith awareness, are there Bible passages that are problematic for you? If so, what are they?  (you can paraphrase)

3.  In light of your interfaith awareness, are there other Christian teachings that you wonder about? If so, what are they?

4.  In light of your interfaith awareness, are there parts of hymns or liturgies that raise questions in your mind? If so, what are they?

5.  Are there any other questions or comments on this subject that you’d like to include?

You can respond here or email your answers to pastorsusan@fulc.com. I won’t use you name unless I get your permission later on in the writing process. Thanks in advance to those of you who will participate!

Leave a Reply

Categories

