Posted by: smstrouse | March 5, 2016

Just What Is Spirituality Anyway?

images-2

I’m curious. How do you define spirituality?

I’m asking because we’re discovering that the term “spiritual but not religious” is woefully inadequate. The “not religious” part is OK. But how people talk about “spirituality” is all over the map. Some don’t even like the world “spiritual” at all.
It makes it tricky for those of us in the church who are trying to understand the “spiritual but not religious” phenomenon. I, for one, would like to establish connection and conversation with those who are interested in spiritual matters – not as a way to get them into the seats at First United – but to be in relationship somehow. If I have an agenda, it would be that the spiritual but not religious discover that it’s possible to be spiritual and religious.

I know very well the many reasons why some people are not interested in organized religion. And I get it, I truly do. There are days when I wonder why I stay. That’s another conversation; suffice it to say there are also days when I am very grateful for the church.

Was Teilhard de Chardin right: “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience.”?

Taking my cue from  Kelsey Grammer’s radio talk show character on Frasier:
“I’m listening.”

we-are-not-human-beings-having-a-spiritual-experience-we-are-spiritual-beings-having-a-human-experience

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

