Posted by: smstrouse | May 13, 2017

I’m with Her on Mothers Day

10274166_10203021373468572_6063021794519708667_nI would never call my mother a feminist. The closest she ever came was when she called my father a male chauvinist pig. It wasn’t something that I – nor, I’m sure, my father – never expected to come out of her mouth. She’d been the good, subservient 1950s wife.

It wasn’t until after her death that I learned what a strong young woman she’d been. And I had to admit that it was her strength that enabled her to survive a difficult marriage and life in a patriarchal culture. I also had to acknowledge that I had inherited that strength – albeit along with some other less desirable traits. But years of therapy have enabled me to (mostly) separate the wheat from the chaff and I can honor Mildred “Millie” Esther (Ludy) Strouse  on Mothers Day.

I also honor other strong women, such as:517ojHaEqSL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

Sister Simone Campbell, executive director of NETWORK, a National Catholic Social Justice Lobbyflat,800x800,070,f.u1

Unknown

Sally Yates

Elizabeth Waren
The National Co-Chairs of the Women’s March on Washington:  Tamika D. Mallory, Carmen Perez, Linda Sarsour, Bob Bland . . .

and all the women around the world who marched

Women's_March_(VOA)_03

Happy Mothers Day!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

